In October 2020 Baseball America broke the news that Major League Baseball was planning to cut the number of minor league teams from 162 to 120 -- four per franchise. On December 9th 119 affiliate invites were sent out by MLB teams. 42 previous minor league teams were cut loose from participation with MLB teams. 120 teams ultimately accepted the invitation to partner with the 30 Major League teams. Of the teams cut six were assigned to a new MLB Draft League, seven teames were assigned to the Pioneer Partner League. Nineteen teams have moved to Collegiate or Independent Leagues. According to my count at the date indicated below twelve teams and their cities are no longer going to have a professional baseball team. I feel for these cities and the baseball fans located there who have lost teams that have been providing baseball entertainment for many years. The minor league levels are now AAA, AA, Advance A, and Low A. League and Division names have changed to directions North, Northeast, West, Northwest, South, Southeast, and Central. The following leagues are now MLB Partner Leagues: Pioneer League (previously a MLB Pioneer Rookie League) and Independent Leagues--American, Atlantic, and Frontier.

I have tried to go through the teams I have visited and give the MLB team affiliate and league and level that they will be playing starting this year--2021. This information will only be posted to our most recent visit to the team. The website will become a historical document of team alignments before the reorganization of 2021. Any future locations visited will be indicated by the level at which the team plays with a special column at the league level AAA page, AA page, and on the Single A page as High A and as Low A.

Hopefully we will be able to travel later in the season and visit some of the 34 locations that are still on my to do list. 3/20/2021